# 2015-16

### INTER COLLEGE OPEN DEBATE COMPETITION

An Inter College Open Debate competition on the topic of Net Neutrality is conducted by VRSACM on 25th July 2015. Enthusiastic students from different colleges like LPU (Lovely Professional University), VRSEC, Andhra Loyola etc., participated in this debate completion. Net Neutrality debate in India: Here are all the arguments you need to know While online activists and even big Internet companies have come out to support Net Neutrality, the debate isn't really as simple when it comes to India.

Net neutrality (also network neutrality, Internet neutrality, or net equality) is the principle that Internet service providers and governments should treat all data on the Internet the same, not discriminating or charging differentially by user, content, site, platform, application, type of attached equipment, or mode of communication. The term was coined by Columbia University media law professor Tim Wu in 2003, as an extension of the longstanding concept of a common carrier.

A widely cited example of a violation of net neutrality principles was the Internet service provider Comcast secretly slowing uploads from peer-to-peer file sharing applications using forged packets. Research suggests that a combination of policy instruments will help realize the range of valued political and economic objectives central to the network neutrality debate. Combined with strong public opinion, this has led some governments to internet services as a public utility, similar to electricity, gas and water supply along with limiting providers and options those providers can offer

#### **RULES FOR DEBATE**

- 1. There are two teams, each consisting of two or more speakers.
- 2. Each group is to agree on two to three significant points of argument.
- 3. The "pro" group will read the first point of argument. A debate on the validity of that particular point will ensue, providing others in the group opportunities to elaborate and the "con" group opportunities to counter.
- 4. One person speaks at a time. No side discussions!
- 5. All comments MUST address the previous student comment directly. You may not simply ignore a comment and shift the argument to an unrelated point.

# **Structure for Debate**

	Total Time Allowance: 10 minutes	
"Pro" Point #1	"Con" Objection to Point #1	"Pro" Rebuttal to Point #1
"Pro" Point #2	"Con" Objection to Point #2	"Pro" Rebuttal to Point #2
"Pro" Point #3	"Con" Objection to Point #3	"Pro" Rebuttal to Point #3
"Con" Point #4	"Pro" Objection to Point #4	"Con" Rebuttal to Point
#4		
"Con" Point #5	"Pro" Objection to Point #5	"Con" Rebuttal to Point
#5		
"Con" Point #6	"Pro" Objection to Point #6	"Con" Rebuttal to Point
#6		

## **Total Time Allowance: 3** minutes

# **Debate Etiquette**

- 1. Team members must meet together in preparation for the debate, so they can work together as an effective team.
- 2. All members of each side must participate in the debate.
- 3. Do not read your materials.
- 4. Maintain good eye contact with the audience.
- 5. Use proper language and be polite in referring to your opposing team.

# TOTAL NO OF PARTICIPANTS

S. NO	NAME	COLLEGE	BRANCH
1	BalineniMrudula	VRSEC	IT
2	K. Geeta	VRSEC	EIE
3	L. Vineela	VRSEC	IT
4	N. Tejaswi	VRSEC	IT
5	Ravi Kishan	VRSEC	IT
6	T. Yesaswini	VRSEC	IT
7	R. Vignan Kumar	VRSEC	IT
8	Ch. Manisha	VRSEC	IT
9	S. Poojitha	VRSEC	IT
10	B. Manoj	VRSEC	IT

11	SwathiMoulika	VRSEC	IT
12	R. BhanuTejaswini	VRSEC	IT
13	R. Supritha	VRSEC	IT
14	K. Krishnaveni	VRSEC	IT
15	G. Siri	VRSEC	IT
16	M. Sai Sri Lakshmi	VRSEC	IT
17	M. Manisha	VRSEC	IT
18	T. Lakshman Kumar	VRSEC	IT
19	K. Prudhvi	VRSEC	IT
20	M. Surya Vamsi	VRSEC	CSE
21	P. Chaitanya	VRSEC	CSE
22	P. Rohit Kumar	VRSEC	-
23	A Leela Sai	VRSEC	ECE
24	P.Teja	VRSEC	ECE
25	Lakshmi Teja	VRSEC	ECE
26	P. Harshitha	VRSEC	ECE
27	G. Bhavana	VRSEC	CIVIL
28	Ch. Vikas	VRSEC	IT
29	G. Ravali	VRSEC	IT
30	B. Ajit Kumar	VRSEC	ECE
31	S. Bhavani	VRSEC	IT
32	K. Bhavya	VRSEC	EIE
33	I Akhila	VRSEC	EIE
34	P. Krishna Chaitanya	VRSEC	IT
35	Ayaz Ahmad Shaik	VRSEC	IT
36	G. Naga Shiva Kumar	VRSEC	IT
37	M. Padma Priya	VRSEC	CSE
38	V. L Manasa	VRSEC	CSE
39	P. Tejesh	VRSEC	CST
40	ShireenOnjum	VRSEC	ECE
41	M. Krishna Kanth	Lovely Professional University	CSE
42	I.G Manikanta	Lovely Professional University	CSE

43	K. Suresh	Lovely Professional University	ECE
44	Ch. Sharmila Krishnan	Andhra Loyola	CSE
45	B. PoojaPurna	VRSEC	ECE

#### WINNERS LIST:

The members of VRSACM student chapter held an open debate on "NET NEUTRALITY" on 25th July 2015 which aims in creating awareness on issues of Net Neutrality, a topic of interest both on social media and mainstream news. This is in regard to the usage of funds provided for the event Open debate competition on NET NEUTRALITY.

# WINNERS LIST

S. NO	NAME	COLLEGE	BRANCH	
1	G. Siri	VRSEC	IT	1st Prize (Rs 2500)
2	B. Ajit Kumar	VRSEC	ECE	1st Prize (Rs 2500)
3	G. Ravali	VRSEC	IT	2nd Prize (Rs 2000)





